Hua Hin

This week, my host dad surprised me by announcing that me and some of my host cousins would go down to Hua Hin! Hua Hin is in the Northern part of the Malay peninsula in Thailand, and is southwest of Bangkok. It’s a beach town with incredible sun, sand, and lots of things to do! It was about an eight hour drive down to Hua Hin from Phitsanulok.

When we first arrived at Hua Hin, we got to the hotel. Usually when I go travelling in Thailand, we go to a homestay or a cheaper sort of hotel. Not this time … the place was beautiful, and when I walked onto the porch outside, I was face-to-face with a massive pool! Me and my host cousins started swimming as soon as we got there, and it turns out that the pool connects everything, so you can swim to the first hotel room to the last. Also, when we made it to the end of the pool, we got to the beach. There was hardly anyone on the beach, and there weren’t many waves, but the water was way saltier than in New England! The waves were pretty small, though, and my host cousins told me that they thought the waves were huge today (I tried not to laugh). After swimming, we went out to eat seafood, and then went walking through the city.

The next day, we woke up early and went out to a huge shopping center. My host family is obsessed with American brands, so they were shopping at stores like Nike and Adidas. I, on the other hand, was looking for cheaper, Thai stores, since I’ll be coming back to the U.S. pretty soon anyways. After that, we went to Santorini Waterpark! My host cousins and I spent the entire day going down slides, swimming, and going in a “Hamster Ball” ride, which spun around so fast that I could barely walk afterwards. Unfortunately, that was our last day in Hua Hin, and we went to bed soon after so we could travel back to home early. I was sad to go … but excited to show off my new tan back in Phitsanulok!

Leave a comment